Waiting for the Owl

I made boxes for the birds in Goodenbergh Country Park and 3 years ago I made a Barn Owl nest box and placed it in a tree near to my wildlife hide.

The Jacdaw Squirrels and Stock Doves usually get in the box first but I got a really nice surprise when I was just sitting in the Deer hide. The sight of a Tawney Owl flying headfirst at the box and carrying a mouse in for what looks like young.

I can’t wait to see if the family are successful and rear a family for the good of the site. I have only seen your Owls about 5 years ago. Keeping very quiet I sat and watched the male come out of the box and sit there for a good 10 min then it flew into a tree next to me just out of sight.

Author: blackie1957

I am 63 years old and and since a boy have had an interest in wildlife and in particular birds. I help my Dad with the rearing of young finches and other birds. I had many small birds as pets and as i got older and joined the Military i purchsed my first Camera, and fold out Kodak. Over a 22 year period i enjoyed many countries outside the uk and observed many species of birds. When i left the military in 2000, i bought my first digital camera a Canon 450D with a Tamron 70-300 and started my journey on capturing images of birds and animals. I quickly learned that there was a lot more to getting a good image of a bird, so i started to research the best settings for my camera in order to capture a better image. Over a 12 month period i realised that needed to invest in a better camera and lens and after research bought a Canon 50D and a 100-400 Lens. It was 2013 when i really got to grips with the setup and came across a lovely Short Eared Owl. From that meeting i started to concentrate on Owls as they fasinated me. From Canon to Olympus i recently jumped ship again to Sony. The variety of birds i have captured over a 10 year period is vast and at present i have a wildlife hide in lancashire where most of my images are captured.

One thought on “Waiting for the Owl”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started