Lovely People

When you love the work you do but need people to help achieve it i cant think of anything better than when you meet people that are so helpful and have the same love for wildlife and the beauty it brings us on daily basis for no cost at all. Helping preserve and inform people of the birds and animals that live in our county is so important to me. This drives me on to film and write about the wonderful sightings i see their stories and the struggles they encounter.

With a great area to film i have encountered many species of bird but most of all the Barn Owl which i first sighted over 10 years ago. They still occupy the same building but there different ones and still ringed locally. The past week has seen bad weather but when the air clears and the wind drops the Male Barn Owl is out hunting.

Barn Owl Number 2 No Ring.

So after 2 weeks in one location i decided to change location with the permission of the land owner. I set up by 10.30 this morning and sat in my hide waiting for something to happen. I didn’t have to wait long when the Barn Owl flew through the small grassed area in front of me and made its way into a tree. It was very exciting having only being set up for less than 30 mins.

I then heard a call of a bird i have not heard since 2014, a call you can’t mistake. I zipped down my hide so i could see out of my left hand window just enough to see what was making the sound. I could not believe what i saw another Owl sat up on the edge of the building in the morning sun. One was just amazing but then another flew in. I was in dreamland having 2 species of Owls at the same time feet away.

The Little Owl’s sitting in peace.

Yes you could say i was dreaming but i was soon woke up from my dream when a Common Buzzard landed in the tree at the end of the field. No way would it fly towards me, and top off my day.

Common Buzzard just to top off my day.

All this was possible as 2 lovely ladies that own the property have let me film in this wonderful location, and i hope to film more and video more lovely footage and images with stories to explain the moment.

As i left to get in my car i look over only to see the Barn Owl hunting, i raised my camera and took some images of it as it flew past me.

Author: blackie1957

I am 63 years old and and since a boy have had an interest in wildlife and in particular birds. I help my Dad with the rearing of young finches and other birds. I had many small birds as pets and as i got older and joined the Military i purchsed my first Camera, and fold out Kodak. Over a 22 year period i enjoyed many countries outside the uk and observed many species of birds. When i left the military in 2000, i bought my first digital camera a Canon 450D with a Tamron 70-300 and started my journey on capturing images of birds and animals. I quickly learned that there was a lot more to getting a good image of a bird, so i started to research the best settings for my camera in order to capture a better image. Over a 12 month period i realised that needed to invest in a better camera and lens and after research bought a Canon 50D and a 100-400 Lens. It was 2013 when i really got to grips with the setup and came across a lovely Short Eared Owl. From that meeting i started to concentrate on Owls as they fasinated me. From Canon to Olympus i recently jumped ship again to Sony. The variety of birds i have captured over a 10 year period is vast and at present i have a wildlife hide in lancashire where most of my images are captured.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started